A Tropical Bookmark

Summer may be slowly slipping away from us as August speeds by and September approaches, but it won’t stop me from holding onto the warm weather and enjoying it for as long as I can. The weather has been good up here on the coast this year, and I intend on soaking up all of the sunshine until it’s gone, as in the meteorological calendar it’s not officially autumn until September 1st! Until then, I am still in holiday mode, and proudly wearing my sunglasses everywhere I go, even if there are clouds on the horizon.

That feels strangely like a metaphor for life I should be adopting…except the best, even if the worst is looming. A true optimist at heart, always.

DSCN5797

With that in mind, I decided it was time to bring some of that summer feeling indoors in the shape of an origami corner bookmark! I’ve made a fair few of these before, and I always use the same base that the brilliant Red Ted Art uses in most of her corner bookmark videos – here is a good example as the design is fairly simple and it shows you how to get the basic corner bookmark shape if you want to make one yourself.

DSCN5783

So after I got my initial base, I went for my own design by adding some dark green banana-style leaves to the top corner, which I simply cut out of green paper, and then doodling on some colourful floral patterns for contrast. At the moment I’m really inspired by all of these tropical prints that are on everything from tumblers and mugs to pillows and duvet covers. I don’t know if I have an aesthetic as such, as I chop and change a lot, but if I ever had to choose one it would be a botanical/tropical/floral theme for certain.

These are always so fun to make and so quick too, and the possibilities for these are endless.

A good, bright way to start the week I think!

Hope you’re all doing well and had a wonderful weekend.

Tasha

xxx

14 thoughts on “A Tropical Bookmark

  1. Wife of a Gamer says:

    Cute bookmark! I am forever just using random papers to keep my place.
    I’ve been noticing a change in our weather. Spring is on it’s way. It is officially Spring day here on September 1st πŸ™‚
    I’m looking forward to longer days and warmer nights. We had a good rainfall last week (much needed as we were under water restrictions due to low dam levels), which even left some snow for us on the mountains. Hopefully after all this rain our dam levels are back to decent.
    Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      I still do that despite making these, haha! Awww lovely, I always enjoy the transitional times during the year when the seasons change. It’ll be autumn here very soon and already I’m excited for it. Spring is my favourite but I love wrapping up warm during the cooler months. I hope the water levels return to normal for you soon! You too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kezzie says:

    The bookmark is super cute!!! I have made these before and they are really useful. The botanic design is really pretty- clever you!
    I think you’d like the new bed cover my husband bought me/us for our anniversary, it is very botantical!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Kezzie! I love them, they’re just so quick and practical. Would love to see some of your ones! Your duvet cover sounds lovely, I do love a good botanical design.

      Like

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Amy! ❀ I love making them, they're really easily to do and you can personalise them any way you like. Come autumn I'll end up doing lots of Halloween themed ones, haha! πŸ˜€

      Like

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Kerri! πŸ˜€ I will have to make you a couple and post them out to you if you like this kind of design! I should get some patterned paper and make a few to send to you. I think I need to embrace the ebook trend, I think it would be a lot easier than carrying around lots of books, but I love the smell of the paper, haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

