Joyful Moments: July

July was a fun-filled and slightly stressful month, but a good one nonetheless, and being blessed with favourable weather was an added bonus too. So far it seems to have carried over into August, despite a few rainy and overcast days here along the coast, but I’m happy with the odd shower give how sunny it’s been. With everything that is happening across the world and in life in general at the moment I’m feeling thankful and ready for new challenges that hopefully August will bring, and I hope all of you have some good things to look forward to as the summer comes to an end this month too.

So without further ado here are the things that have been making me smile throughout July.

1. Turning 27

DSCN5501

I turned 27 on the 27th and shared 27 of my favourite photos in an earlier post – all the 2’s and 7’s – and had a nice relaxing day. It was a much quiet birthday than previous ones but I was thankful for that and I received so many lovely messages and gifts from penpals, fellow bloggers and friends and family, so a big thank you to you all for that. The little sticker above is the collection name for a group of moths and was one of the small things I picked up for my birthday, and the first thing I wanted to share with you all.

2. Little Visitors

DSCN5703

I love spiders, and keep finding these not so little ones all over the house at the moment. They’re fascinating to watch and so important, and I felt like I had a little roommate for a few extra days before this one disappeared off somewhere else.

3. Finding Peace In Nature

DSCN5677

July brought with it some bumps and setbacks but it’s good to know that there are beautiful places like Bassenthwaite Lake nearby which only help to restore the balance and make you feel peaceful again. My family and I popped down there one afternoon and were greeted with these lovely scenes. The featured image for this post is a lovely, bright pink knapweed that I spotted while at the lake that day too – so a new plant spot for me as well!

4. Madeleine Floyd’s Illustrations

DSCN5760

I got this lovely book from the cute shop over at Whinlatter Forest near Keswick, back in 2014, and I adore the illustrations. I used to have a calendar back when I was at university from the same illustrator, and I still have all of the pictures stashed away somewhere. I only recently rediscovered this book as I was sorting some things out and have been reading through it again, and the kingfisher is definitely my favourite out of all of her illustrations, so this was a nice little thing to rediscover this month.

5. July’s Fine Weather

DSCN5550

I love each of the seasons equally (and I won’t lie with autumn on the horizon I have been looking through past Halloween photos and I am already prematurely excited – I know, it’s too early!) but it’s hard to beat those golden summer evenings, and I feel this is a good one to end this post on too.

Hopefully we’ll have a few more of these golden afternoons before August bids us farewell and September takes centre stage.

A Few Other Things I’ve Been Loving:

  • Glass Animals – Agnes. Glass Animals are one of my favourite bands and I love this song, so I’m glad they’ve finally released it along with a video. The video is really interesting and intense, having been filmed in a human centrifuge, which matches the song’s lyrics perfectly. The song itself is beautiful and sad, and definitely worth giving a listen to, especially if you’re a fan of their stuff.
  • Poldark. This last series was one of the best if I am honest, and I can’t wait for it to return because that last episode left me wanting so much more. The storyline has been so gripping this series and I think the characters are all developing and changing in so many ways, that I am now so invested in this programme. I love it, and it’s been what I have been looking forward to each and every week.
  • Everything Beautiful Is Not Ruined by Danielle Younge-Ullman. This book made me cry, and it’s one that will stay with me. I love it when books flip between the present and past memories and you slowly peel away at what the main character is going through, and I also adore it when the protagonist has to go through something difficult or face something tough in order to get back to themselves or to find happiness again, as I feel it’s very similar to real life and the hardships we all face in general. This one has a nice wilderness feel to it, like having to endure living in the jungle for a month on a survival course. It’s tough, hits hard and deals with difficult family relationships too, and a book I highly recommend.
  • Wild Alaska Live. I had to include this here because it was a real highlight for me this month. If you haven’t seen it yet, definitely try and find it on catch-up as it looked at how everything is connected in Alaska, from the people to the animals and how much life the salmon bring. They also looked at the other animals that travel to the area for feeding as well as the stunning glacier which provides just as much life as the salmon do. I particularly loved hearing the native tales and historical importance the salmon, bears and wolves play for the local people, so interesting.

Hope you’ve all been well and had a lovely weekend, and that your July was fun-filled and enjoyable too. Let me know what your highlights of the month were, and if there’s anything I should check out that you’d recommend.

Tasha

xxx

12 thoughts on “Joyful Moments: July

    • Natasha says:

      Me either until I saw that sticker! 😀 Thank you lovely. Awww, yay, July twins! 😀 Will have to remember yours for next year. Hope you had a great birthday too.

      Like

  1. Tracy Terry says:

    I’m so glad you found so much to be joyful for this July, Thank you for sharing such a positive post with us. I think this we should all do this when all around us there is such negativity and what at times feels like sheer evil.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nevena Krstic says:

    I hope you had a lovely birthday! These are all really great photos! That illustration looks amazing! And whaaaat I didn’t realise that the next Poldark was out, I think I’ve been living under a rock recently hahaha! 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kerri (@LifeAsUnusuals) says:

    Your little spider friend reminds me, I was staying at the MIL’s for a bit the other week and they had the biggest house spider that I have ever seen on their ceiling. He was a magnificent beast! I couldn’t help but smile at his greatness!

    Bassenthwaite Lake looks like a gorgeous place to go and collect your thoughts. I’ve been on the hunt for a few more thought-collecting-spaces near me for a while, but so far, I haven’t found a place as lovely as that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      😀 I do love spiders! It is a nice place, especially on a hot day – if you ever visit here I definitely recommend visiting the area. It’s just outside of Keswick and is a walker’s paradise. Hope you’re well lovely!

      Like

Leave a Reply

