A Wooden Butterfly

For this week’s creative post I wanted to do something a little different, and with it having been my birthday recently, I was given a few, cute things and the majority of them seemed to have a crafting feel to them, which I loved. Therefore I’ve got a lot of creative bits and pieces to keep me busy over the next few months, some which I’m very excited to get started on.

The mini project in this post was picked up on my birthday from the amazing Whinlatter Forest near Keswick which I’ve written about both here and on my previous blog before. They have a cute section towards the back of the shop that’s full of things like these 3D puzzles, which I will never get tired of, and as soon as I saw it I knew I needed to pick the butterfly up and try it out.

DSCN5494

I did have to use some wood glue to secure some of the more wobbly sections, but this was fun and easy to put together. Some of the sections can be a little bit fiddly because of the type of wood it is, and can break apart quite easily (something which I stupidly did in my haste to get all of the sections out of the packaging – note for next time, be gentle and go slow!), but after gluing the antennae and the head section back together you wouldn’t notice any of the breaks, and because it’s so light it holds together nicely.

DSCN5483

It looks very sweet guarding my nighttime lavender gel and spray which my very good friend sent me for my birthday too, and I’ll definitely have to go back as they had a spider there too which looked amazing!

Something fun and nature themed to start the week with.

Hope you’re all well and have had a lovely weekend.

Tasha

xxx

18 thoughts on “A Wooden Butterfly

  1. Tracy Terry says:

    Oh how lovely. Alas probably too fiddly for me to even think about doing … my middle name isn’t clumsy for no reason.

    My great-nephew saw it and asked if you could paint it. He’s dropping large hints that he’d love the spider one for his birthday. I’m just not sure if this is because he really wants one or because he sees another spidery thing with which to terrify his mam.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      I was thinking of adding a few bits and pieces, but not too sure as I quite like the nude shade! I might try and find some small, fake flowers and leaves and attach them though to keep it a woodland theme! Still need to do that with the deer head you sent me last Christmas!

      Like

  2. Natalie | Surviving life's hurdles says:

    Your butterfly looks so lovely and really detailed. It looks stunning as it is but I probably wouldn’t be able to stop myself from painting it! #MakeItLinky

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you, I thought so too! I love 3D puzzles and I think they work well as decor too. I had a t-rex one when I was a kid but I can’t remember what happened to it! More than welcome. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

