The Colours of Summer

A fortnight ago we had a riot of wild flowers growing on the lawn and along the verges of the garden. When it came to mowing the grass and cutting it back as our green spaces began to look a little unruly once more, Mum salvaged some of the wildflowers and put them in a jar of water to enjoy for a little longer before they disappear from the lawn altogether as summer begins its slow and sultry move towards September and then invariably, autumn.

August is often a month of both good weather and a general winding down as the height of summer reaches it’s peak and when Mum bought these wildflowers in, the sunshine in the kitchen was just perfect, and it lit the flowers up beautifully, so of course I had to get my camera and get some photos. I won’t write anything else here as I think these photos speak well for themselves, and I hope you all get the same sense of calm from them that I did.

DSCN5012

DSCN5004

DSCN5000

DSCN4999

DSCN4997

DSCN4995

Linking up with the lovely Jen for Photo Friday today.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

Tasha

xxx

8 thoughts on “The Colours of Summer

  1. David M. Gascoigne says:

    When I was a little boy I used to pick wildflowers for my grandmother and she always kept them in an old jam jar on the window sill. We certainly could never have afforded to buy cut flowers but I suspect she enjoyed the wildflowers just as well. Have a great weekend – and maybe pick a few flowers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kezzie says:

    Yellow and purple are a wonderful combination! At music camp, in the Summer, there are always little glasses with wild flowers on the tables. I wanted this at my wedding but it didn’t quite work out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

