A Little Paper Cactus

I apologise for my absence over the past fortnight, things have been busy in my corner of the world, and while this week promises to be no different, I wanted to get back into the routine of posting before the whole of July passes me by! So I though what better way to jump back into the week and the blog, than with some origami?

Cacti have fascinated ever since I was a child. I love the wide variety of shapes and colours they appear in, and when many of them bloom, the flowers are simply stunning. I’ve always wanted to have a go at creating some DIY’s or papercrafts inspired by them and I finally decided to try out an origami cactus from this tutorial via Origami Club a couple of weeks ago, which turned out perfectly. The instructions on the diagram show the specific paper folds, but if you want an animated explanation there is also this video you can follow as well from Wonderful Innovations which has a lot of other tutorials on their channel for similar patterns.

DSCN5087

This one is nice and simple, and also gave me the chance to add my own little creative stamp with the the addition of a plant pot! I opted for some bright, batik style prints which I always see a lot of come the summertime, just using some permanent markers – I think I definitely need to invest in some of those nice copic style markers I’ve seen people use on YouTube. I used plain, pastel coloured paper but I reckon you could create these in a whole variety of sizes with different textured papers and variations of greens, to make your own little cacti forest if you wanted.

DSCN5093

I’ve since seen some tutorials for more adventurous cacti with blooms so I will definitely have to try that out very soon!

While I will be posting again this week, I do apologise if I am lagging behind with replying to comments etc. as this week will be a busy one again as there are lots of things going on in life which usually mean that the blog ends up taking a backseat, so just bear me with and I should be back to being on top of this blogging thing before long!

Hope you’re all well and have had a great weekend.

Tasha

xxx

14 thoughts on “A Little Paper Cactus

  1. Mandy says:

    This summer has left me pretty quiet as well. I haven’t really been busy so much as overwhelmed.

    I love your cactus! I feel like I should be doing something like this – something to distract me and keep me from overthinking my life. Of course, it’s possible that doing origami might stress me out further. I guess there’s only one way to find out, though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Mandy! That’s one of the reasons I’ve been indulging my origami bug again, it’s the perfect way to switch off from life, even if just for a little while. Most patterns are fairly easy but some are a little trickier – one of my goals is to try out some of the more advance ones soon! Hope you’re doing OK.

      Like

    • Natasha says:

      Yes, I completely agree Kerri – a flower would look great! Hope you manage to try out some of these this week and that you’re having a lovely holiday so far too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

