30 Days Wild: Days 20 – 26

This past week has seen a mixture of weather and wild visitors, and this post might be one of my favourites out of the whole bunch, as the last fortnight has been great for weather and wildlife spotting. While the weather is now noticeably cooler, I feel like I made the most of the heatwave before it dissipated, and in good time too as I am currently typing this whilst the rain is pouring!

While I know 30 Days Wild has now come to an end, I’m saving the last few days of this challenge for next weekend’s post, as I want to do an overall round-up and share some of my favourite spots and photos from the past month as a way to nicely round it all off, so if you’re wondering where the last few days of the challenge are, they will be in the next and final 30 Days Wild post, so bear with them, they are coming!

So, with that in mind, here are my spots for days 20 through to 26 for 30 Days Wild!

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_20 green scene

Getting some shade beneath the canopy of the lilac tree today. The flowers have all finally disappeared now leaving these lovely, green leaves which always shine up beautifully in the hot sunshine.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_21 FotorCreated (3)

Went down to Bassenthwaite Lake for a quick stroll and a few photos today in the heat and found some lovely pink common valerian and ragged robin, as well as these lovely lakeside scenes.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_22 PicMonkey Image (7)

I went down for a quick stroll along one of the coastal paths near Maryport and found that yellow was the colour of the day! The first photo and the centre top ones are both bird’s foot trefoil, but the other two I’m not 100% sure on still so if any amazing botanists know, let me know!

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_23 rain flowers

Today was a rainy one so I went outside and got some nice photos of the rain-soaked garden. The fuschias looked stunning in the rain with their bright pink petals all lit up.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_24 Sparrows

I spent some time watching the ever lovely local sparrows as they were out and about today, and I managed to spot both a male and a female sitting together on the fence here, before the female flew off and the male spent some time taking in the sunshine and posing before he joined her.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_25 pink and purple

Lots of pinks and purples for today’s spot. The self-heal was looking especially pretty in the sunshine, in the bottom left-hand corner, and the vetch in the final panel on the right-hand side of this collage had beautiful shades of pink and purple that always remind me of watercolour paintings.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_26 Maryport Beach

 You may have noticed these photos from Maryport above also turned up in yesterday’s post, but I loved the views and scenery there so much that I wanted to share them twice, yesterday and also here as part of my 30 Days Wild challenge. The little periwinkles scuttling about were my favourite thing!

So those were my spots for days 20 through to 26, the final four, as well as some extras including my favourites and new spots etc. will be in next weekend’s post and for those of you who also got involved in the challenge, what have your favourite moments been?

Hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend!

Tasha

xxx

6 thoughts on “30 Days Wild: Days 20 – 26

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you so much Louise, that means a lot. I tried to make it visually pleasing and interesting. I know I need to mix it up for next year though as I always end up treating it as a photography mission, haha! Yes, it’s been hard to identify the others – but I’m still looking around. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

