30 Days Wild: Days 13 – 19

The past fortnight just gone has seen some gorgeous weather and some great wild spots. Even with the cloudier weather at the beginning of last week I still managed to get out and about find some lovely things to document for this year’s challenge. I have to say though, towards the end of this week’s post is where the magic has been happening, as our heatwave arrived. The weather has brought out a lot of plant and wildlife and it’s been lovely to see!

So here are my finds for days 13 through to 19 for 30 Days Wild!

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_13 PicMonkey Image2

Managed to get some photos of the stunning red campion which has lit up the hedgerows today and this added spot, another first for me, was this amazing heineken fly! They have very telltale ‘snouts’ for a fly so it was an easy one to ID and this one stuck around all the time I was taking photos.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_14 marsh willow herb

Lovely pale pink marsh willow herb appeared in the garden next to the spiraea bush almost overnight so that was the featured flower for today’s spot – a new one for me too! Love how dainty they are.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_15 lawn flowers

A miniature wildlife safari on the garden lawn today as I didn’t venture far. I spotted self-heal, buttercups, clover and of course daisies. The bees were loving all of these and I spent some time simply enjoying the sunshine in the garden.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_16 dodd wood

Got out to clear the air and blow away some of the cobwebs as I wasn’t feeling great on this day. A combination of life in general and world events, but some ‘forest bathing’ set me right. Dodd Wood is lovely, and I will definitely be going back at some point. They have an osprey viewpoint here and the whole area is gorgeous. The lovely pink rhododendrons were looking stunning!

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_17 along the river

A brief wander along the river today where I spotted this lovely purple perennial cranesbill, the deep raspberry red hedge woundwort and a little aphid just hanging out on this oxeye daisy. The local cows were basking in the afternoon sunshine and the River Derwent was sparkling. The tree bumblebee in my featured image for this post was also spotted on this same day!

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_18 snapdragons

Snapdragons for the summertime. Mum planted these last year and they bloomed into life about a week ago. I love this pink and orange colour.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_19 meadow

Today I took a quick trip to one of the nearby wildflower meadows to admire the last few remaining flowers, listen as the wind whispers through the grasses and watch the sun as it began to set.

I am very happy with how this post turned out as I’ve been slightly busier this week so I’m glad I managed to get out and get the photos I did. I am realising I may not be doing as much as some other people I see using the hashtag on Twitter so next year I think I need ot step my game up and get involved in some activities! And just like last year I can’t believe this is whizzing by as fast as it is!

How is everyone else finding the challenge so far if you’re still doing this?

Any favourite spots of the last few weeks?

Hope you all have an amazing weekend!

Tasha

xxx

10 thoughts on “30 Days Wild: Days 13 – 19

  1. Kezzie says:

    I wish I had remembered to get organised and take part this year! You seem to have done well with all this! Thanks for the info about that fly- I have no clue about FLy species!!!x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you! I had to look it up as I wasn’t sure of the species but as soon as I found the matching photo I knew it couldn’t be any other fly, it’s the nose! 😀

      Like

  2. Sarah Owen says:

    Lovely photos Tasha. I think 30 Days Wild is what you want it to be, what you make it, so don’t worry about what everyone else is doing. I’ve only been watching nature in my garden and local area. I love that you’ve identified the fly. I’ve seen a few different ones but don’t know the species! 🙂
    Sarah x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you so much Sarah! I must catch up with your posts too! Thanks for your kind words too, I think there’s always pressure to be doing lots of different things but you’re right, it’s what you make it and taking part at all that matters. ❤

      Like

  3. Kel says:

    I don’t have a touch of your nature-based knowledge – I only know the names of about four flowers then everything else is ‘that pink one’ or ‘the pretty purple thing’ or something like that! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Awww, I’m sure you’d be able to pick it up quickly! I used to know nothing, but I’m curious so I spend too much time trying to ID things online and using books. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

