Sunny Portside Afternoons

Workington Port is one of the nicest places to visit during the summertime, especially when the tide is in and the seagulls and the resident heron are out and about!  It’s a great place to go and take five minutes out of the day to relax, and with it being so close, Mum and I have been taking advantage of that and visiting it often. I took these photos about a week or two ago now, and just haven’t gotten around to sharing them yet, but with the weather having been so warm recently, and it already being midway through June (how did that happen?!) it feels wrong not to!

DSCN2889

I could easily watch the seagulls for hours on end, they’re just such characters and I love that when they’re on the surface of the water, mirror reflections of themselves appear underneath, like they’re floating on ice. I didn’t spot the heron on this particular day so I will have to keep an eye out for him when I next visit!

DSCN2900

I was having this discussion with my Mum the other day about how visually pleasing maritime or nautical paraphernalia (one of my favourite words there) are. I don’t know how to properly explain myself, but wherever I go, if I see objects like the rope above tied onto railings, or buoys/floats dangling off the sides of boats or (my personal favourite) lobster/crab pots (not so much for the poor lobsters and crabs, but more because I think they look cool) I always end up taking loads of photos of them!

Does anyone else have this strange fascination?

DSCN2880

I really like this photo as it appears as if the seagulls have claimed the boat for themselves! I especially love the one gull right at the prow of the boat, preening itself and the other one sitting on top of the controls! I also loved how blue the water looked on this day, and there were plenty of other seabirds and waterfowl around, including geese and ducks which were grazing over the far side of the water, so too far for me to get nice photos of!

DSCN2877

The Port is a busy place too with lots of ongoing work hence the cranes in the photo above. Usually it’s not too noisy though, even with that in mind, so it’s OK and generally it’s a calming place to stop and have lunch, when you can. When the tide is out I love to be down by the beach so I can explore the rockpools and walk along the shore, but when the tide is in the Port comes to life for me.

DSCN2875

I couldn’t resist another shot of the gulls before leaving.

Linking up with Jen for Photo Friday today.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

Tasha

xxx

14 thoughts on “Sunny Portside Afternoons

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Kel, it is, a lovely part of town! I’m glad someone else gets it, and you’re right, there’s something good for the soul about being near water I think.

      Like

    • Natasha says:

      Me too Mandy, it just feels soothing and good for the soul, doesn’t it? It’s a lovely area, and with it being so close by it would be a shame not to go there often. Thank you for always leaving such lovely comments too!

      Like

  1. lostvestige says:

    These photos remind me of my favorite beach town, which has a very large port. I love walking along the docks and watching all the ships come and go. It is quite relaxing and definitely one of my favorite places to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Sarah, and the place you described sounds lovely, I love it when there’s a local, nautical area, it just always feels so calming to be somewhere like that. Do you have any photos of it? 🙂

      Like

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you so much Imogen! I always forget that while we’re getting some sun here it’s cooler where you are, but I imagine it’s been nice this week there as we’ve had a real heatwave! Hope you’re well lovely. ❤

      Like

  2. Kerri (@LifeAsUnusuals) says:

    What a gorgeous place to enjoy a walk. It looks like it would be nice to walk out there in the summer evenings with the sunset too. You’d get some lovely photos I reckon.

    I love all things sea. I think it’s the relaxing feeling that kind of thing gives you. I can’t help but associate the sea/coast and everything else with fun childhood holidays and all the carefree-ness that comes with that.

    Although, if you can believe it, we’ve yet to actually head to the coast this year… which is shocking. We’re holding out a little until Moxie is a little older and can handle a whole day out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you so much Kerri! I’ve not been able to go down to the beach just yet but I’m hoping I can do that soon and then get some nice photos of the coast as well. Yes, the coast definitely feels the same way for me too! I bet a day at the coast with Moxie would be lovely. Hope you’re all doing well and enjoying time with her now. How are things going?

      Like

  3. emmamereta says:

    Beauuutiful photos! Seagulls are such characters 🙂
    I find all the ropes and things really fascinating when I’m down at the harbour. There’s always interesting shapes, textures and things going on.
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

