30 Days Wild: Days 1 – 5

June is always a good month because 30 Days Wild always helps to brighten it, and I’m so glad it’s that’s time of year again! This will be the third year I take part, and I’m going to follow the same structure of these weekly posts that I did over on my old blog last year. So if the numbering seems a little odd at first on how I split these up, it’s only because I want to be able to show you what I’ve been doing each week without overloading you all with photos and information!

So without further ado, here are my first six days of being wild!

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_01 Shells

On the first day of the challenge I decided to do something a little different to kick things off. That morning I had been sent a parcel filled to the brim with beach treasures from a very good friend of mine. There were all sorts in there and I promise a post showing what else was in there will follow soon, but these ‘jingles’ caught my eye and my friend instructed me to put them in water to see how cool they are, and once I did they shined up in beautiful iridescent shades!

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_02 Saw Fly

On the second day I took a brief trip down to Barepot to walk along the River Derwent, as it was beautifully warm and sunny. I’ve got a fair few photos from that day which I will also share in a later post but my main spot for this day was this brightly coloured saw fly which I found resting on this buttercup.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_03 Hollyhock

Day 3 was another warm and sunny day and it lit up this lovely hollyhock plant which blooms every summertime. I loved the patterns on the leaves and the sizes of them, so I got a few photos and even managed to capture the little soldier fly, which was a matching metallic green.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_04
Fuschias

On the fourth day I was feeling quite low with all of the current world events going on so I went in search of some sunshine and colour and found that the fuschia bush had bloomed overnight. There were a few bumblebees about also feeding on the newly opened flowers so I sat and watched them for a moment in the midday sunshine.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_05
Stonecrop

On Day 5 it had rained in the morning so when the clouds finally moved across the land and the day brightened I headed outside as I knew the stonecrop would have collected some of the raindrops on it’s leaves, and I was right! Whenever it rains you can guarantee the leaves will be covered in these jewel like droplets and they just look very pretty against the cool green of the leaves.

It’s been a great first week of 30 Days Wild and in the next post I’ll be sharing days 6 to 12. My highlight of this week was definitely the saw fly as I don’t think I’ve ever spotted one before so I was happy to get some photos. I will also be sharing the other photos from my riverside walk on Day 2 and the other beach finds I was sent in a later post.

If anyone else is taking part this year and you’re also blogging about your adventures please send me your links or leave a comment as I love to see what everyone else is doing or has been up to.

Hope you’ve all had a wonderful week so far!

Tasha

xxx

10 thoughts on “30 Days Wild: Days 1 – 5

  1. Louise says:

    I’ve struggled a bit so far… looks like you’ve had much better weather than I’ve had… so much rain and wind here this week! I’ve just about kept my 30DW going! The weather hasn’t been all bad though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Sorry to hear you’ve been struggling lovely, it has been good weather though so maybe I should be thankful! It’s been more drizzly this past week, but I hope the sun comes to you soon!

      Like

  2. lostvestige says:

    I always love the month of June! Summer is just beginning, the days are long, but it is not unbearably hot yet. That is one incredible looking fly, great capture! I need to remember to photograph the garden more often, it changes so quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Danielle Eskdale says:

    Love, love, love! This is my first year ‘taking part’ (which is weird for me, but yeah) and it’s a great inspiration to see your shots as all of mine just seem to be birds haha. I’ve combined mine with my P365 and plan to share it all in one big post at the end of the month. I look forward to seeing more of yours through out the month!

    xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Ah I love that you’re doing it this year, I can’t wait to see if you share any of your photos too, I bet they’ll be stunning! And nothing wrong with lots of birds. 😀 I can’t wait for the blog post!

      Like

  4. Jade @ Captured By Jade says:

    Lots of lovely captures from your first week of 30 Days Wild – I’ve been loving keeping up with everyone’s online and the concept behind the challenge is great. Looking forward to seeing more photos and nature stories from you, Tasha. Have a lovely week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you so much Jade! Me too, I love seeing everyone’s photos on their blogs and Twitter too, it’s great. I’ll have another one going up tomorrow! Hope you’ve been well too.

      Like

    • Natasha says:

      Awww, that’s lovely! I think fuchsias will always be a favourite of mine as they seem to follow me wherever I go. I’m glad they bring back such fond memories for you too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

