Spring In Bloom

Spring brings with it many a wonderful thing. Tiny, gambolling lambs, blue skies, light showers, warm breezes, bumbling bees and cute, fluffy fledglings. All of these sights have been on my radar for the past couple of months, and I’ve spent many hours keeping my eyes peeled for all of the usual sights of spring in preparation for this month’s challenge from The Wildlife Trust, as 30 Days Wild started on the 1st June! I’m always excited that 30 Days Wild happens around this time of year, as it’s usually a month of sunshine, colour and many a good moment for wildlife spotting!

As the month goes on I will be posting a weekly round-up of what I’ve spotted/done, and if anyone else is taking part I’d love to see what you’re planning and any photos you take. With that in mind I felt like it would be a good time to share some of the floral sights I spotted throughout May, as it was definitely The Month of Flowers for me, with a lot of beautiful flowers, blossoms and plants appearing almost overnight. The Lake District is always very pretty, whatever season, but in spring it really does come to life, with bluebells, oxeye daisies, red valerian, red campion and buttercups all over the place.

It’s definitely my favourite season.

DSCN2188

Aquilegia – Columbine ‘Clementine Dark Purple’

Technically this isn’t a truly ‘wild’ spot as my Mum planted these, but I think they’re too pretty not to share.

DSCN2159

Wood Anemone

FSCN2830

Oxeye Daisy

DSCN2753

Common Lime Blossoms – I think!

DSCN2654

Buttercups

DSCN2657

Cow Parsley

DSCN2653

Hawthorn Blossom

DSCN2784

Daisies

The flowers in the featured image for this post are red valerian which I’ve spotted all along the coastal roads here!

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend, despite the ongoing political stresses, take some time out for yourself to unwind and decompress and enjoy the outdoors, even if it’s just for a moment! I was up until 4:30am last night watching the election unfold so I am completely exhausted today, so I’ll also be looking for some sunshine and a nap when it presents itself!

Look after yourselves and keep striving for change!

Linking up with Jen from Pierced Wonderings for Photo Friday today.

Tasha

xxx

10 thoughts on “Spring In Bloom

  1. emmamereta says:

    Your pictures are always so lovely 🙂
    We have a few different colours of aquilegia in the garden here, and I think they look even more beautiful when you look at the flowers from underneath.. if that makes sense haha.
    I love your header photo too 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you so much Emma, you always leave such lovely comments! Yes it does make sense, they’re definitely best viewed like that. Thank you! The red valerian is everywhere at the moment so I needed to get some photos of it.

      Like

  2. Gabrielle says:

    I visited the Lake District in Spring many years ago and LOVED it, you’re so right about it being particularly special at that time of year.

    aglassofice.com
    x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Danielle Eskdale says:

    Yes! My favorite season too 🙂 I’m terrible with knowing the names of plants – I’ll blame my brain being full of bird names instead ha. The pink one at the top of the post is growing down by our bridges at the river here.

    xo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kel says:

    Beautiful flowers! Much as I love wildflowers, recently I’ve been mainly concentrating on the ones in the garden and it seems finally to be coming together – we’ve attracted loads of bees who are happily buzzing around the place and it makes me so happy to see them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

