The Mighty Makar

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker has to be one of my favourite games. I adore the soundtrack, the character design and the overall story as you play through it, but most of all I love it because it’s the game I have the fondest memories of growing up. During the school holidays, especially over the summertime, my brother would play this for hours and I would sit and watch him, just getting lost in the game, with the two of us laughing and joking while he played through the different locations.

I tried to play it myself, but while I love videogames, I will hold my hands up and say I’m not the best gamer! I’m much better at the point and click puzzle/horror games like The Last Door and Rusty Lake, which are both definitely well worth you checking out, especially if you like mysteries. But while I’m no gamer, it doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate the designs, stories and music, and I thought a good way to start this week after my short break would be to feature my favourite character from The Wind Waker in an illustration – Makar!

The best musical accompaniment for this is Forest Haven from The Wind Waker soundtrack here.

DSCN2744

DSCN2739

DSCN2740

I love Makar, and this whole part of the game is my favourite bit. The design, the music and the colours match the environments perfectly, and I especially love the design Makar has. His heart shaped leaf face is apparently derived from a real world plant/tree, and Makar’s name itself also seems to come from the makoré plant! So I wanted to honour my favourite little Korok in an illustration. I drew freehand from an image of Makar and then added in detail in pencil, before using my pastel pencils to give him some colour. I wanted to something other than a watercolour and the pencils worked well for this, and allowed me to add more details too, and I’m pleased with how it came out! I also added in Makar’s bow for his violin too, because I love it when he finally plays!

A good way to kickstart the week I think!

What have you all been up to? How has your weekend been? Is anyone else taking part in 30 Days Wild this month as well?

Hope you’re all well!

Tasha

xxx

10 thoughts on “The Mighty Makar

  1. Sarah Owen says:

    What a cute little character! I have to admit, I haven’t heard of him or the game, but your drawing is lovely! I love his leaf face. I’m quite enjoying 30 Days Wild so far. Hope you are too.
    Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you! I just wanted to do something a little different for a change as I often draw nature scenes etc. but I love Makar, and if you get a chance to play the game, definitely give it a go! Me too, I love 30 Days Wild.

      Like

    • Natasha says:

      He’s from one of my favourite games, and it’s definitely worth trying it if you get the chance. I’m not a big gamer but there are several I just love and will always sing the praises of, like the Zelda games. 🙂

      Like

  2. Rebecca Robinson says:

    Hi Tasha,
    Mum here, lovely picture, lovely drawing, wonderful to see you showing off your hidden talents
    you should do more of them. Biased, not biased:) The mamma xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

