The Blogger Recognition Award

So this is the final tag post I was behind with from about a month ago, and I thought I’d get it out now so I’ve been able to share them all, as I’m going on a brief blogging hiatus over the next week as I’ve got a busy few days ahead. So of course, I need to say a big thank you to the lovely Jamie from Once Upon A Blog for tagging me with the Blogger Recognition Award, make sure to head here to read Jamie’s original post and check out her blog too. My recent favourite post of hers is this oneΒ where Jamie talks more about the upcoming live action Aladdin film from Disney. As always, we have some rules, which are below.

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  • Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide a link to the post you created.

So, how did my blog start?

PicMonkey Collage

For as long as I can remember I’ve had a journal or blog of some sort. I’ve blogged under various names over the years from Find The White Horse to Tasha’s Treasure Trove, but it was only when I started blogging under the name Through Tasha’s Camera, that I started to find my stride and my style. At the beginning of the year, after around 5 or so years blogging over at Through Tasha’s Camera, I decided on a change and thus The Happy Larkspur came into being!

I wanted to try something new on a different platform and while I still love blogger, I am enjoying WordPress a lot, and it’s nice to have a change. I’ve always wanted to inspire people to be curious about the world and to find joy in the everyday, and I so often wrote about nature and wildlife that I thought it was time my blog name that matched that. I had had a very short lived tumblr blog under the name The Happy Larkspur and I just really liked how it sounded and the meaning behind it, with nods to how I want to be (happy) and the fact my birth month flower is in there too (larkspur), and that’s where I am now – The Happy Larkspur!

Two pieces of advice for new bloggers.

collage

The only advice I think I can ever give to anyone else who wants to blog is to, one, have fun with it, and two, write what you love!

I blog because I enjoy it, and I think it should be an enjoyable hobby for everyone else who does it too. I know there are many people now who make their living via this kind of media but if you’re not finding that it inspires you anymore, or it’s becoming stressful, then I feel like things like blogging lose their charm. Taking breaks from being online all of the time definitely helps me in that sense, as well as not getting too bogged down in statistics, followers or numbers in general, but I think the most important thing is to be loving what you’re writing about.

I don’t think you should feel that you have to conform to a certain style or standard of blogging if it’s not your thing. My favourite blogs, no matter whether they’re writing about fashion, fandoms or food, all have a genuine passion for it, because it shines through in their writing, and that’s what pulls me back to a blog again and again. If you love something, let that be the muse for your blog, because there is nothing worse than trying to write what you think will please others, if it doesn’t please yourself. It probably sounds cliche but, be yourself and people will enjoy it, because it will shine through in your own writing style.

I don’t know if that’s helpful to anyone as I’m not a big blogger, but it’s the advice I’d give a younger me, as I tried to write thing my heart wasn’t always in when I was younger, and it never felt right, and I feel like I’ve found my style now.

I’m Tagging:

Imogen

Kezzie

Jade

Meghan

Danielle

Kerri

Monique

Kel

Tracy

Maridan

Sarah

Sian

Amanda

Marc

Stephen

Hope you’re all well and having a wonderful weekend!

I’ll be back to blogging in about a week or so, and I promise I will catch up with all of your posts very soon, it’s just been hectic here, and this week is set to be no different!

Tasha

xxx

18 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you lovely! Don’t worry about not always commenting, sometimes I find it hard to find time in the day to get online to catch up so it’s not a worry. Thank you for always leaving kind comments though! πŸ˜€

      Like

  1. Mandy says:

    Glad you are still enjoying WordPress and that you’ve found your stride. I’m currently on the search for mine. Just when I thought I had found it, I lost it again. *sigh* I feel like that’s sometimes just how it goes, though. You get used to one thing and then everything you know changes … and so do you in the process. I love your advice about not focusing on stats and blogging because you enjoy it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you lovely! That happens to me too, so don’t worry, it will come back. I’ve always been very anti-follow focus. Of course it’s lovely to have people following it and getting lots of hits, but it’s never appealed to me. I just want to make people smile and have fun while doing it, writing about what I love and I feel like a lot of the blogging world now has become saturated with keeping up with trends and hitting targets, and you can notice it in some blogs that the enjoyment is going, and I’ve seen a lot of people frustrated with it, so I try to keep it as a hobby and keep it fun. I’d love to blog full time as a job, but then I’d worry it would lose the charm. This comment got me thinking!

      Like

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you lovely! Yes, I used to blog nearly everyday years ago but now I take regular breaks as I feel otherwise real life can get neglected and I can run out of inspiration for the blog.

      Like

  2. lostvestige says:

    Nice tag! I enjoy reading people’s blogging stories. I have also been enjoying WordPress as a blogging platform, but I am still searching for inspiration when it comes to posting. I’m sure it will come back in time, like it usually does. I just wish it would hurry up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you! Me too, I sometimes have to go back ot films, music and books for a boost sometimes. I feel like the blogging world has changed a lot and it’s less about having fun and creating and more about keeping up with trends and hitting followers and targets, so I try to make sure each post feels right for me, so I get that.

      Like

  3. Gabrielle says:

    I love your advice to new bloggers; finding the hobby enjoyable is absolutely key, and like you say, the moment you stop enjoying it is the moment it loses its charm!

    aglassofice.com
    x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Gabrielle! I don’t know if it’s good or not, but I hope someone finds it useful. I know for many it’s a job now, but for me I like the fact it’s a hobby, it keeps it enjoyable for me, but then being able to blog full time would be amazing too! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Kel says:

    Aww thanks for tagging me sweet, and this is some great advice!
    I;ve been blogging for years in various spots but still don’t feel like I know anything about it! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      You’re more than welcome lovely! I never know who to tag, or who likes doing tag posts so I just pick people I think would be interested, so no pressure! πŸ˜€ Me either, to be honest, I just do it because it’s fun!

      Like

  5. πŸ“– Jessica πŸƒ (@KldscpsPolkaDot) says:

    Oh, Tasha. I love your response to this post. Your new blog name is so charming and it suits you so well.

    I definitely agree about what makes me come back to certain blogs. They are inspiring, enjoyable and “almost” effortless. I say almost because as you know there is a lot of effort that goes into any post.

    Hope you’ve enjoyed your break!!

    xoxo
    Jessica

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

