Lilacs In Bloom

It has finally come to that time of the year when the lilac tree has finally bloomed! I always get excited about this because as soon as the first few blooms appear on the tree I know that spring and therefore summer are not far away, and with spring being my favourite season, it’s always a good benchmark for me to guess when the rest of the flowers and springtime wildlife will appear. Now that the lilac tree has finally bloomed I feel like spring is really, truly here as the weather has been gorgeously hot here but the plants seem to have been slow to bloom, so I’m glad to see a sudden wash of colour over the hedgerows and in the gardens now.

DSCN2379

There were several bees buzzing lazily to and from the petals and I can’t wait for more of them to turn up as the bees love this tree. The birds have also been making good use of the thicker areas in the canopy too and I often see them flying in and out.

DSCN2365

This tiny little slug was happily crawling over this old fence post that had been left in the ground before we moved in, and against the green of the grass and the fallen lilacs it looked so sweet.

DSCN2373

I just love the colour of the flowers and the mini canopy the leaves create in this corner of the garden.

DSCN2361

Some of the blooms had been blown off the tree as it had been very windy over the past couple of days, so I picked one or two up to press to go into my nature journal so they wouldn’t all go to waste, but they also looked pretty in the sunshine there, amongst the daisies.

DSCN2359

I found the tiny, individual petals which had been blown from the fallen blooms very sweet, and they had created a very fine carpet of lilac coloured blossoms on the grass. This one in particular caught my eye as it had landed on the stone wall by the tree and was looking pretty in the midday sun.

DSCN2385

Always a joy to see come this time of year, I will never get tired of waiting for the lilac tree to bloom. This part of the garden always feels like the entrance to a fantastical world when it’s lit up in the midday sunshine, so it will always be my favourite part of the garden.

Linking up with Jen for Photo Friday.

Hope you all have an amazing weekend whatever you have planned!

Tasha

xxx

11 thoughts on “Lilacs In Bloom

  1. Jade @ Captured By Jade says:

    A lovely collection of photos, Tasha… Just last weekend I took a few pictures of a neighbour’s lilac tree and sadly the blooms are already dying off; for me that signifies summer not being far off. I like that you added some of these to your nature journal; I bet that is coming along nicely!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Jade! I was happy to see the blooms finally here, especially as like you say, it’s nearly summer now and already some of them are dying off, so I’m glad to catch some before they leave. It is, I’m glad I decided to do one this year, just need to keep on top of it!

      Like

    • Natasha says:

      Haha, I have a lot of love for all of the little creatures in the garden, slugs included but I know sweet is probably not the usual wording, a lot of my friends would say the same as you, so you’re not alone! 😀 Thank you so much lovely, they’re lovely to see!

      Like

  2. Gabrielle says:

    They really are a joy to see everywhere – beautiful, fresh and bouncy! This truly is a lovely time of year 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend, Tasha.

    aglassofice.com
    x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

