Birds of a Feather

When in doubt I pick up my pencils and paint brushes and I sketch out birds, and recently I’ve been doing an awful lot of them! May is definitely the month of flowers for a lot of us (including me) and I always end up drawing and painting lots of floral things come this time of year. However, with the last month being an emotionally and physically draining one,I’ve been doing a lot of bird-watching. so my recent attempts at trying to stay creative have been very bird-related which has been both good fun and has definitely been lifting my spirits too.

PicMonkey Image

My most recent additions have been (starting from the top left-hand panel) a little gouldian finch (I love their colouring), a tufted coquette (they may well have the most spectacular plumage of any bird in the animal kingdom) and two affectionate southern rockhopper penguins in the bottom panel (one of my favourites). Two of these are just simple sketches from photos with added colour from my colour pastel pencils, and the finch is a sketch with watercolours.

I love watercolours but recently I’ve been enjoying just drawing and using my pencils to shade and add some colour, but I definitely need to work on the shading part. I kept the tufted coquette quite rough and ragged to try out a different style as well for a change, without too much sketching before adding colour, and that was fun, especially trying to emulate their plumage! I’ve really been enjoying just sitting down and drawing recently, it’s very therapeutic and has been a nice way to get back into doing something creative each week without planning ahead too much, so I hope these make you smile as much as they did for me.

Hope you all had a lovely weekend!

Tasha

xxx

12 thoughts on “Birds of a Feather

  1. emmamereta says:

    These are great Tasha! 👌💖
    My favourite is the penguins 🙂
    Love the colouring on the other two birds! They’re so vibrant. I love looking through bird pictures in Instagram, there are some unbelievably colourful ones out there. 🙂 X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gabrielle says:

    Sorry to hear you’ve been feeling drained lately, though very pleased to know that you have something that serves as a great emotional outlet – and how lovely these sketches are! 🙂

    aglassofice.com
    x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kezzie says:

    I am very sorry about the sadness of the bereavement to your family this month but I’m glad art can form a valuable therapy of sorts to you. These are beautiful and I love the brightness as well as the expression of the penguin!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

