When In Doubt…

It feels like it’s been a long time since I’ve sat down to type out a new post, and I want to say a big thank you to everyone for all of the kind words and patience over these past few weeks. Things in my part of the world have not been easy, and for those of you who have reached out to me or have me on Facebook and Twitter you will have seen that my family suffered a bereavement, which has left us reeling for the past fortnight, and will still be difficult to process for the foreseeable future.

Things are slowly starting to settle down now, but I know it will take time to fully heal. With that in mind I have been trying to focus my energy on the things I love. In part as a way to buoy myself in the face of loss, and also to honour my Granddad’s way of life. He lived it full and happy, complete with music, art, good food and fun, and I hope I live life anywhere near as well as he did.

Because of this I found my watercolour palette calling out to me, as well as the lure of the mountains, and after a few trips out, and some time spent going through old photos I sketched out this little scene below, and it’s certainly been helping me these past few days.

DSCN1603

I’m really pleased with how this turned out, the colours, the doodle/illustration style – it was fun to try out, and the addition of some upbeat and inspiring text was exactly what was needed, and I definitely felt better by the time I’d finished painting this. I was able to stand by my window and do this, while watching the birds, so it was a welcome break from things and I am now feeling ready to start to tackle the rest of April, and start afresh in May.

I hope you’ve all been well, and I will be catching up with all of you very soon.

Tasha

xxx

14 thoughts on “When In Doubt…

  1. Louise says:

    I’m so sorry to read this… it seems from the comment here that I’ve completely missed this turn of events (I’ve been so busy, I’ve been all over the place and so have evidently missed any posts you’ve made elsewhere) so apologies for not getting in touch sooner to offer condolences, not that a few words makes a great difference in the circumstances. Hope you’re starting to feel a little better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Hey Louise! Please don’t worry, I put a couple of things on Facebook and Twitter but I wasn’t too vocal about it, so don’t worry, things are starting to wind down now, though it’s not easy, but thank you for the kind words here, they do help! I do hope you’re doing OK too?

      Like

  2. Kel says:

    Sorry again to hear of your loss, but I really admire the way you ae honouring his life. A full nad happy life is all we can hope for and work for xxx
    Your painting is beautiful x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

