Spring Is Springing!

I’m so glad that spring is finally here and the garden and surrounding areas are starting to show off their seasonal colours with a bang! There are daffodils everywhere, and the front lawn is covered in daisies. The fuchsia bush still has a way to go, and the lilac tree is only just budding up, but the rockcress, which has been here since my Mum and I moved in, is flourishing beautifully!

Rockcress Collage

I love the bright, purple shade and the shape of the petals reminds me so much of pansies. They’re always one of the first flowers in the garden to bloom so as soon as it’s appeared along the border, I know the season is changing.

DSCN1529

There have been some lovely tiny speedwell flowers joining the daisies on the lawn too, and the sight of these is always a welcome one. I love their powder blue shade and the little details. They’re such lovely flowers.

DSCN1439

And I couldn’t type up this post without including some lovely daffodils either. I spotted these growing along the cliffs down at Maryport near the Roman Museum, which my Mum just discovered a fortnight back, so we’ll definitely have to go back there soon and have a proper look around.

DSCN1441

Growing alongside the daffodils were these huge gorse bushes which should soon be lit up in bright yellow blooms, and the scent that comes off of them is so nice as they smell like coconut!

I love this time of year because it always feels like a waking up of the world, as the plants slowly come back to bloom and the birds, bees and butterflies start to emerge more often and go about their daily routine. I love autumn and winter and the fun they bring, but I always look forward to spring and I hope the following months bring with them their own little bit of magic and encouragement as the weather (hopefully) turns warmer and warmer.

UPDATE: 12/04/2017

I’m going to be away from this blog for a couple of weeks or so, as my family and I are dealing with a bereavement at the moment so I am going to be late responding to blog comments etc. so please bear with me for the time being.

Tasha

xxx

22 thoughts on “Spring Is Springing!

  1. Louise says:

    I love all the promise spring brings – all that extra sunshine and longer days, meaning you can do things with the evenings or take longer walks, and there’s so much more to see in terms of wildlife and nature πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. emmamereta says:

    The colour of the pansies pretty much matches your blog menu colour πŸ˜€ !! And what a lovely colour it is too!

    The tiny speedwell flowers are so delicate.

    I love the daffodils! The daffs here have been the nicest I’ve seen for a good few years. πŸ™‚

    Lovely pictures xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mike says:

    This is such a lovely post (I found it via my sister – Kel Let’s Go). My favourite thing about Spring is the kids playing out. Being so after school means my kids just don’t see anyone through Winter. Then, as soon as Spring has sprung, all the kids are out playing and getting up to mischief; it really brightens the streets.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you so much for visiting my blog Mike! Sorry this is such a late response, I’ve been tied up in family things. Yes, the extra light during spring is a welcome break from the cold here too!

      Like

  4. Gabrielle says:

    I can relate to your enthusiasm, Tasha! Spring is such a beautiful time of year – and it’s such a relief to wake up to sunny skies, instead of freezing cold temperatures!! Beautiful flower shots.

    aglassofice.com
    x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mumundone says:

    Hey Natasha, hope you had a lovely easter filled with lots of good chocolate! Anyways just wanted to let you know I’ve tagged you in a post over on my blog called “The awesome blogger Award.” Look forward to reading your answers if you get the chance to do it! XOX

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kel says:

    Hi Tasha, sorry for the late comment but I’ve just seen about your family bereavement (had very limited internet last couple of weeks), and just wanted to say how sorry I am to hear about the sad times you and your family are having – thinking of you x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

