A Box of Curiosities

At the end of last year, just after Christmas I got some money from my grandparents which I bought a couple of little things with; one of them being my little polymer clay nudibranch which has featured on this blog before. Another of these was a curio box, which is something I’d always wanted. This particular curio box contained a number of antique items and curios as the title suggests – some natural and some manmade – which all came in a small decorated wooden box. A curio itself is a rare, intriguing or unusual object.

I got this particular box from one of my favourite Etsy stores, The Journeytree, which is full of similar items if you’re also interested in curios like natural history items, such as skulls and skeletons, or you like collecting oddities. There are also prints, jewellery and taxidermy supplies on their Etsy as well, and there are several other pieces still sitting in my Favourites on Etsy which I daydream about buying someday! So for this week’s Photo Friday, I thought I would share with you all the pieces that came inside the box for something a little different. There are a fair few photos in this post, so I will keep the text to a minimum from here on.

DSCN0900

The wooden box the pieces came in. I love the print on the outside of this.

Two curio vials; one containing vintage seashells and the other with some gemstone chips. The seashells are tiny and range in colours, as with the gemstone chips, and the little vials are very cute too!

DSCN0915

An antique French iron key. Probably my favourite piece from the box. I’ve always wanted to buy or find an antique key as I think they’re just lovely for decoration and they remind me of things like The Secret Garden.

DSCN0920

A livestock tooth mudlarked from the River Thames, which would have been found within the mud along the Thames, so I think this piece is very cool!

A clay pipe bowl which were used to smoke tobacco with. I just think this is really interesting and it lead me on a bit of an internet rabbit hole when I was reading about these things!

DSCN0927

An antique glass marble. Love the blue throughout the centre.

DSCN0928

Three pottery fragments: a grey iron age piece, a sea-worn piece of Tudor green ware and a blue and white willow pattern fragment. The Tudor green ware piece is probably my favourite, I just love the colour.

DSCN0931

A half-penny and three pence coin. Love the ship on the half-penny and the dimensions to the three pence piece.

A shark tooth – always very, very cool (it’s resting on the iron age piece in this photo as it’s such a bone white colour it would fade into my windowsill when I took the photo) and a fossil conglomerate polished stone which I really, really like! It’s dark and has lots of swirls and patterns on it which reminds me of orthoceras or snowflake obsidian.

DSCN0951

A fragment of sea-worn glass stirrer, which I love.

A section of belemnite fossil, which is a fossil of a squid like creatures and are related to other animals like ammonites, nautiluses and of course modern day squids and octopuses too. This is really interesting. The pieces tend to be bullet shaped and this fragment has some very interesting patters throughout the centre of the fossil and it’s one I hadn’t heard of before either, so I was intrigued.

And that is my little curio box! It’s currently sitting on my shelf in it’s box at the moment as I’m not quite sure how I want to display the items just yet, but I knew I wanted to take some photos and show you all as I just think it’s really interesting and if anyone has any advice on where to look for items similar to these or how you display yours, I’d be really interested to know.

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend, whatever you have planned!

I’m away this weekend so I will reply to blog comments and catch up with everyone once I’m back home!

Tasha

xxx

10 thoughts on “A Box of Curiosities

  1. Jade @ Captured By Jade says:

    I’ve never heard of these before, but I absolutely love the idea behind the box and all the little bits you received – the key is probably my favourite item also. I love the marble too. I’m now off to check out the Etsy seller! Have a lovely weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Jade, I love the key too, it reminds me of a lot of my favourite films and books! Yes, definitely check out the seller, it’s one of my favourites! You too. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

