A Mountain Sunset

March is finally here and after what has been a busy but lovely start to the month I’m definitely moving into springtime mode now! I spotted the first few daisies out on the lawn last week and the skies have been staying lighter past 4:30pm, which is always a sure sign that the warmer months are approaching, and while I do love winter and all of it’s pretty seasonal changes, I can’t lie and say that I don’t get excited when spring is approaching!

With my newfound zest for the sunshine in my mind, I set about painting to relax and unwind and ended up creating another mountain scene, this time with lots of sunshine, including some peaks bathed in golden list as the sun sets. It’s one of my favourite things to be outside, somewhere wild, not just peeking out from my window, when the sun is rising and setting, and while those opportunities are often few and far between, they’re always worth the wait for – that was the inspiration for this week’s crafty piece.

DSCN0832

I used my trusty watercolours for this, and after sketching out some very crude, basic, mountains I added darker colours along the tops of them, fading out towards their base, before dotting on some green in rough areas to create the appearance of vegetation, but still keeping it fairly sparse. Then I added on some golden yellow from the sides to hit the mountains, as I really like the splash of colour it gave, even though it’s not necessarily where the sun would hit, but I claim artistic license!

I also blended out some pinks and yellows along the base of the sky to create that hazy sunrise/sunset rainbow of colours you often see, as I wanted to paint something colourful and bright, to remind me of the warmer days ahead. This was one of those sketches where I wanted a more basic shape, hence the limited detail, but I really like how this came out. I think I’d quite like to try this out on a canvas and add on some more detail and elements like clouds, as I think this kind of scene would look nice hanging on a wall, so I need to get down to the craft shop!

Something nice and bright to ease me back into the week after a busy start to the month.

How have you all been?

What’s been making you smile recently?

Hope you’re all well and sorry for my absence, I’ve had a very busy start to the month but I am back and blogging again now! I also haven’t forgotten the Tags I was tagged in, all of those posts have been written and are ready to go up, I’m just tying to stagger them so I don’t overload you all.

Tasha

xxx

17 thoughts on “A Mountain Sunset

  1. tiacheriefashion says:

    It’s always so nice to see the initial signs of a new season. Unfortunately it’s the other way here as it’s becoming colder and darker. I love your picture, the watercolour effect is beautiful and the yellow and pink shades make it a standout.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LauraDaisyChain says:

    Beautiful picture Tasha! And aren’t these first signs of spring so cheering? Although my brother just text me to say it’s snowing in Leeds where he lives so it might not be quite here yet- very thankful for the somewhat warmer climate of the South West! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Laura! Yes, I’m so glad spring is finally here, it’s my favourite! It is still chilly where I am too, no snow though, but I’m hopeful the sun will return soon! πŸ˜‰ Hope you’re well lovely!

      Like

    • Natasha says:

      Me too, there’s just something uplifting about them! Yes, long walks in the evenings are always one of my favourite things about the summer weather. Thank you Sarah! πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. Jade @ Captured By Jade says:

    Lovely work Tasha.

    Spring has sprung but here in Wales it has been grey and dreary full of rain for a week or so now – the blooming flowers and signs of spring are adding the brightness and lightness to my days. I hope you’re having a lovely week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

