A Paper Spider Mum!

 Early in February I posted about a paper rose I made from Red Ted Art’s tutorial here, and a few weeks ago I  found another very cute DIY tutorial for some brilliant spider mums, which I want to share with you all today. Especially as spring is fast approaching now. I found this tutorial via Live Laugh Rowe’s lovely blog and followed her brilliant tutorial here, and it’s getting me all excited for spring!

dscn0885

Spider mums are one of my favourite flowers, I just think they’re very cute. They’re a type of chrysanthemum and I love the wide variety of bright colours they come in, from oranges and yellows to bright whites and pinks, they definitely make me think of spring and ss we’re moving into spring now, I went for a coral orange for my spider mum, which has since joined my paper rose to bring some colour to my desk!

dscn0891

I followed the steps over on Live Laugh Rowe’s blog and just switched out some of the items for things I had to hand as I was missing some of the pieces that were used in the original tutorial, but I think this turned out OK! So for the stem I used a wooden craft stick and some green yarn and tissue paper to create the base of the flower and the leaves, like I did with the roses, and just used some standard orange card for the flower itself.

dscn0894

This was lovely, quick and easy and it matches my paper rose perfectly, so I now have a miniature paper bouquet in my paintbrush jar which I am sure I will end up adding to as spring draws nearer and my need to fill my room with colour and nature themed pieces increases. I would love to get some felt to cut some petals out of and add buttons to make some colourful daisies for my wall, so when I have the chance I’ll be heading down to the craft shop to see what I can find.

I hope you’ve all had  a lovely weekend and have a fun week ahead planned!

Tasha

xxx

22 thoughts on “A Paper Spider Mum!

  1. Mildred says:

    Hi Tasha, At first glance the spider flower looks real! Thanks for sharing the link. I have a few pretty vases but with 5 cats, I don’t dare have fresh flowers, so these would be a great alternative for me! I hope you have a chance to visit the craft store soon; that always brightens my spirits! xo Mildred

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      They are very effective, and more than welcome, Live Laugh Rowe’s tutorial was great so I knew I had to share it with you all. Glad to hear that Lincoln and your niece are well too.

      Like

  2. emmamereta says:

    This is great! 😄 I have a feeling you’re going to have a super gorgeous bouquet of flowers soon 😃.
    I can see how this could be adapted to make a thistle – I might just have to give this a try 😁 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      They would, wouldn’t they? I loved making it. If you want the tutorial then Live Laugh Rowe is the original creator. This is just my finished creation from her tutorial! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

