Little Emerald Toucanet

I shared this little watercolour over on Facebook about a week ago and knew I had to share it here too. As you know, by now, I love wildlife, especially birds, and whenever I’m looking for inspiration my mind general goes straight to the natural world. I’ve already done a fair few paintings of toucans in various forms, but hadn’t attempted any of the other smaller tropical species, until I discovered the emerald toucanet, that is!

dscn0723

I love the colour these little birds are, with flashes of brighter yellow along the beak as well as darker blue and plum shades on some of the feathers. I tried to stay as true to the original colouring as possible, using greens and yellow throughout to create shading and depth. I began by sketching out the toucan’s outline and adding on some finer details before adding colour using my watercolours, and I’m really pleased with how this turned out!

These little birds are found in Central and South America and their habitats range from Mexico, Costa Rica and Panama up in the higher elevation cloud forests (somewhere I have always wanted to go) and the birds are important in the spread of seeds for several rainforest trees. If you’re interested in finding out more about these beautifully coloured birds, the University of Michigan’s Museum of Zoology has some interesting facts on their website here.

I know I have a couple of tag posts, which I have now done, I’ll be putting them up over the next few weeks as I have a few posts planned and I don’t want to spam you all with posts but they are done and will be up soon!

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend and have a lovely start to the week too!

Tasha

xxx

18 thoughts on “Little Emerald Toucanet

Leave a Reply

