The Painted Ladybird

Using natural objects as bases for a canvas is one of my favourite things, so a couple of years ago when I came across painting on pebbles and rocks, I was hooked. I’ve tried my hand at a sharpie mandala before, and have even written the word calm on one of my pebbles to use as natural room decor, but I haven’t attempted painting yet. So a few weeks ago, when I had some free time, I sat down to finally get this DIY which had been on my list for so long, done!

There are a number of ladybug rocks out there, which quickly became my favourite thing, and I wanted to create one of my own. There are two blog posts I took inspiration from, and if you’re looking to see two other styles for making these then head over to this post from Erin’s Creative Energy and this post from Easy Peasy and Fun. I opted for a more realistic ladybird design for my first painted rock, as I love the way the white spots on the face contrast against the black and red on the carapace, and I’m really happy with how it turned out!

I have a small collection of pebbles and rocks from geography trips and beaches around the UK, but you can also buy bags of pebbles, rocks or stones from craft shops and online, and failing that you can use pebbles or smoother stones from your garden too. The stone above is actually one from my old garden, and was the perfect size and shape for what I wanted. All you then need to do is decide on your design and paint!

I covered the stone in red acrylic paint first, then added on the darker details, such as the wing split and the head in black permanent marker / sharpie. Then using some plain white acrylic I simply dotted on the two white spots behind the head, before adding on the larger ones and two smaller ones below. I was trying to emulate the natural look of a ladybird like in the one from the photo below, which I took a good 3 or 4 years ago back in my old garden in Milton Keynes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And that’s it! You have your very own pet rock ladybird, yay!

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful weekend and have a great week ahead of you all.

Tasha

xxx

18 thoughts on “The Painted Ladybird

  1. emmamereta says:

    The big question is… What have you called your ladybird???? 😁
    This is great, I used to do this when I was younger. My mum used to sell her painted stones with bees and beltie cows on! Such fun to do and very effective 😄
    Your photo of a ladybird is stunning! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

