Joyful Moments: January

As I am not taking part in Project 365 this year I wanted to replace the once monthly round-up posts I featured on my previous blog last year, with something similar. So each month, I’ll be sharing a short list of the things that have been making me smile, from the big to the small, in an attempt to check off one of my goals for 2017; more fun and more happiness! I also think it’s more important than ever at the moment to champion the good things, no matter how small, and not to give up on chasing hope and happiness.

So, without further ado, here are my Happy Moments for January!

1. My New Diary

This was a Christmas present from one of my best friends, Megan, who is always so good at picking out gifts for me. This little diary is quintessentially me, I believe. It’s one of my favourite colours, covered in beautiful illustrations and has a gorgeous poem from one of my favourite poets of all time, Byron, on the back. It’s definitely making planning for the months ahead, much more relaxing.

2. Sunshine Induced Siestas

yellow-sunshine-curtains

It’s still fairly cold and breezy here in Cumbria, but the recent spate of winter sun has meant that afternoon siestas have been accompanied by birdsong and amazing light shadows on my ceiling as I nod off. They’re only short naps, but I always wake feeling energised, and there’s nothing nicer than waking to my curtains gently blowing in the breeze with blue sky behind them.

3. Sunsets & Sunrises

welcoming-in-the-sun-2017

You know me, I blog about them more than anything else, but if opening my windows to scenes like the ones above aren’t the nicest thing, I don’t want to be right. You could definitely put me into the category of a sun worshipper, I just love waking up to bright, blue skies and those golden rays pouring through my curtains. It’s medicine for the soul.

4. My Little Nudibranch

This was one of the little gifts I got for Christmas from my grandparents, who very kindly gave me some money, and as soon as I spotted this adorable polymer clay nudibranch, I knew I had to get it. Β This is Ceratosoma amoenum or a clown nudibranch, my favourite of all the nudibranch species! It came all the way from Malaysia from a very talented Etsy seller called Mori Loves Marine, and there are plenty of other nudibranchs and other marine creatures on their Etsy sight, if you’d like one of your own!

5. The First Daffodils of the Year

first-daffodils-of-2017

My Mum got these from the local shop as already batches of daffodils are appearing, and while it’s a little too early for our native ones to be springing up (though I have seen a few bulbs having poked through the ground already!) having these yellow flowers on my table fills me with the promise of spring, my favourite season, and I’m more than thankful for these bright, yellow blooms, so I can’t complain.

A Few Other Things I’ve Been Loving:

  • The Crimson Wing Soundtrack. If you haven’t seen the film, it’s all about the flamingos of Lake Natron in Tanzania, it’s a stunning documentary and the soundtrack is breathtaking, so I’ve had it on repeat this week. Life of the Bird and Soda are two of my favourite tracks.
  • The Mighty Boosh. I mentioned this earlier in the week, but when you’re feeling low nothing compares to this series. It’s whimsical, mad and genius. Call of the Yeti, The Legend of Old Gregg and The Nightmare of Milky Joe are my favourite episodes, all from the second series, but go and watch all three series, because it’s genius!
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events. I am now more than halfway through The Grim Grotto and I am nearing the end, and I have been loving this entire series. The books were sent to me by the lovely Kerri and I got to watch the Netflix adaptation thanks to the kindness of Danielle, so I am eagerly finishing the books off before the series jumps any further, and it’s been just the kind of escapism I needed!
  • Nasir al-Mulk. A piece of architecture that’s been inspiring me recently is the stunning Nasir al-Mulk, or the Pink Mosque in Shiraz, Iran – a place I desperately want to visit!Β This article shares some stunning photos of the building, where the glass windows send the room into a kaleidoscope of colours.

These are the little things that have been making me smile this month, and I’d love to know what’s been making you happy throughout January too, and if you have any recommendations for me for books, films, music or TV programmes let me know as well!

I’m taking a very brief blogging break over the next week as I’m going to be very busy, but I will be returning to the blog around the 13th of February, with a new arts and crafts based post!

In the meantime, look after yourselves, keep making your voices heard and remember to enjoy the little things.

Tasha

xxx

46 thoughts on “Joyful Moments: January

  1. Michelle says:

    Yes yes to all the happiness! That diary is a thing of beauty too, so very pretty.
    And you know I love a bit of The Boosh, just completely surreal escapism.
    Have a great week or so of busyness (remember to be kind to yourself in the midst of the busy!)
    M x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thoughtsfromjasmine says:

    I love this idea! I’m doing something similar and doing a monthly round up of how I stayed positive so it was nice seeing this on your blog! I really love the notebook and am now more tempted to start A Series of Unfortunate Events! In life there’s so much negative and it’s so important to pay more attention to the things that make you happy!
    Jas xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kezzie says:

    Hurrah to the happiness!! I totally forgot about The Grim Grotto! I always remember ones like The Ersatz elevator or The Austere Academy but not that one!! The Lemony Snickett books are really good. I like how he says, ‘a word which here means….’ although I was a little disappointed with The End! Your diary is dreamy! I like the Country diary of an Edwardian Lady.

    The Nudibranch is really sweet!!!x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Yes! They’re such a good series. I think my all time favourite will always be The Reptile Room as Dr Montgomery has my dream job. Me too, I love that. I’m one book away from the end so I need to keep reading! Thank you. ❀

      Like

  4. emmamereta says:

    Lovely new diary!
    And the nudibranch – did I get that right? πŸ˜‚ – is so nice.
    Daffodils are like a ray of sunshine, so bright and happy.
    I’ve started a series of unfortunate events on Netflix. I’m a bit confused though, is it the same as the movie? πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you! The series is quite different from the film as it follows the books a little more closely, if you’ve read them, and they’ve also thrown a few different things in and moved some of the events around but I liked the original film too, so it’s nice to see a different take. I’m on Book 12 now, so I’m right near the end, so it’ll be interesting to see how it develops in the series too. And yes, nudibranch is right! πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. lifeasunusuals says:

    Oh that’s a gorgeous diary! I hope you get to fill it with many nice plans!

    In all my years of napping, I have never mastered the “short nap”… I nodded off yesterday afternoon and then it was four hours later. I pretty much just fall into a coma…

    I’m glad to hear you are enjoying the books! I’m interested to hear what you think about the end, and how it all wraps up. I think I rushed through them a bit too fast which might have lowered my enjoyment but it’s still a good series to plod though. I’m really enjoying the Netflix show too so I’m excited to see how that all comes together in the end.

    Enjoy your break!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Kerri! I have to confess, sometimes these naps turn into longer sleeps, haha, so I have to set an alarm now. I love the books so far, I’m onto Book 12 now so I’m nearing the end! The Netflix series is great too, really enjoyed it. Thank you!

      Like

  6. aandj8804 says:

    I love early spring. I like cool weather in the morning and evening. And I even feel like the birds know when spring has arrived. And daffodils! So lovely! πŸ™‚ I think everything on your list makes me happy too. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jade @ Captured By Jade says:

    What a lovely idea for a post – it so important to look at the happy little moments. It sounds like January treated you very nicely. The sight of those daffs put a smile on my face… I’m eagerly awaiting Spring now and, like you, I have seen the bulbs sticking out which gives me hope that it isn’t too far away now.

    I hope you have a lovely month of February.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Laila says:

    This is such a lovely round-up Tasha! I love the list you’ve put togehter and especially excited to find that documentary and watch/listen to it. Also, afternoon siestas are the way forward! I need to get more practical with my siestas. x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Gabrielle says:

    Appreciating sunrises and sunsets sounds like a very good way of having a happy month. I love your idea of listing the things that have made you smile/happy, very sweet πŸ™‚

    aglassofice.com
    x

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Danielle Eskdale says:

    Aww I love that diary! I got a lush RSPB one last year but I suck at using them and had forgotten about it by February, I think, so didn’t bother to buy one this year haha.
    Napping has become a fully fledged hobby of mine…I feel 80 lol.

    Here’s to a great February too (although were like half way through now…oops).

    xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Danielle! I love it, it’s making planning for the week ahead much easier. Nothing wrong with napping, I’m reclaiming napping as the true definition of rock and roll! πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

