The Big Garden Birdwatch Round-Up: 2017!

One of the highlights of January, for me, is always going to be The RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch. What could be better than spending an hour watching and feeding the birds, counting our garden visitors and then letting the RSPB know, all in the name of citizen science?! I enjoy it at least. While I did have a much lower count than previous years (which is a little worrying) it was good to do, and it helps the RSPB with monitoring theΒ bird population so it’s good all around!

I did my birdwatch on the Sunday this year as the forecast was much clearer and I managed to get some nice photos while watching the sunrise and listening to the dawn chorus as the rest of the world woke up – it was lovely. By the time I was done, the weather kept its promise, with clear skies and sunshine, with a crisp chill in the air. Standing in the sunshine, it was so warming and comforting, so I’m glad I stuck to my plan and waited as I was umming and ahhing whether or not to get it over and done with on the Saturday instead, but these rays of sunshine reminded me it was a good decision!

dscn0298The few birds I did spot had shiny feathers, looked bright and healthy and were chirping away in the sunshine. I know for a fact that the house across the road’s hedge is full of sparrows, so even if I only saw 1 today, I know they’re around the corner, hiding! There’s plenty of food and water in the garden for them so I know I’ve tried to help as much as I can, and the resident robin returned once again, who I was overjoyed to see!

dscn0364Unfortunately that was as close and as clear as I could get, but look how cute he is!

So, this year I spotted starlings, seagulls, jackdaws, crows, a sparrow, a blackbird and our resident robin, and those were my visitors for this year! So I thought for this Photo Friday it would be fun to share my photos from the morning during and after the birdwatch as a fun way to round off what’s been a busy and long week!

The lovely, resident blackbird that happily posed for me.

dscn0287These three juvenile seagulls were sunning themselves on the roof as the sun rose.

dscn0309The starlings all hanging out together.

One of the very shiny carrion crows.

And two more of the starlings, because they’re one of my favourites, and delightfully chirpy.

dscn0345Finishing the birdwatch off with these sunny scenes was not a bad way to end the morning either, and even though there weren’t as many feathered friends visiting this year it was fun and the sunshine was the cherry on top!

dscn0329And for a tiny bit of good luck I brought my lucky blackbird with me to watch the birdwatch πŸ˜€ The best thing about this little toy is that when you press its chest, it sings the blackbird’s call!

If you took part in the Birdwatch this year are you happy with your results and What was your favourite bird to count?

Linking up with Jen for Photo Friday.

Hope you all have an amazing weekend!

Tasha

xxx

18 thoughts on “The Big Garden Birdwatch Round-Up: 2017!

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you so much Danelle, means a lot coming from you! ❀ The little blackbird I've had for years, my grandparents got it for me from a shop when I was with them on holiday but I can't remember which one – I've found some similar ones on Amazon if you'd like one, just without the keychains. If I spot one, I will have to get it for you so you can have one too! πŸ˜€ And no worries about your post, I'll be eager to see it whenever you get it up, if you do. πŸ˜€ ❀

      Like

  1. Lily Fang says:

    Hello, Tasha! Thank you for you so-sweet comments on my latest posts. They really made me smile πŸ™‚ It sounds absolutely lovely to awaken with the sun and chase the morning melodies of the birds. I think everyday nature has sadly become something that a lot of us take for granted, so it’s refreshing to see that people still appreciate things as simple as birdwatching. This is definitely good motivation to get myself out of bed earlier to soak in the peaceful morning moments!

    Wishing you a lovely week!

    imperfect idealist

    Liked by 1 person

  2. emmamereta says:

    Ahhh I was going to do this, but time got away with me πŸ˜‘.
    I love watching the birds coming and going, and going about their lives πŸ˜„.
    Great photos! I love how all the birds are in different places πŸ˜ƒ my favourite is the 3 seagulls. In my garden, I very rarely see seagulls, and if I do, it’s just a stray flying over!
    Cute wee blackbird too! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gabrielle says:

    I grew up watching my grandad have a huge interest in birds, so it’s lovely to see it through your blog πŸ™‚ Beautiful lighting too!

    aglassofice.com
    x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Louise says:

    Lovely collection of photos! I was fairly happy with my birdwatch results (they’re in my 52 weeks wild week 4 post on my ‘wild’ blog) as most of the usual suspects turned up! It would have been nice to see a wren and higher numbers of other birds but overall, I think it was ok.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lifeasunusuals says:

    I wish I had a garden where I could watch the birds, but nope. I can spy them from my window in the woods over the road occasionally though, so that’s better than nothing.

    It was defintely worth waiting until Sunday though! What gorgeous sunlight!

    I am in love with your resident Robin. I haven’t seen many this year, just once but I didn’t get a chance to take any photos. Hopefully there’s still a chance to see them again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      I was glad I waited as I was tempted to rush it but it was worth it for the sunshine! πŸ™‚ He’s a fairly regular visitor, as well as the blackbird pair too. I hope you get a chance to do some birdwatching as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

