Snapshots of a Cumbrian Summer

picmonkey-image

When I first moved up to Cumbria I spent a lot of time taking video footage as well as photos to remember that summer, and while going through them recently I thought it would be fun to take snapshots of the videos and make a little collage to share here with you all, as a fond reminder of the good things. The world feels like a strange place at the moment and there is a lot going on which has left me feeling disheartened and less optimistic than I usually am, which is not like me, and I have been trying hard not to let the events of the world get the best of me, but many things are weighing heavy on my heart at the moment.

So, in reaction I have been channeling my time and energy into what I love the most, whilst signing petitions, adding my voice to thousands concerned and looking at ways I can donate to help organisations like the NRDC and the UCLA who are protecting both the environment and basic human rights – I have been so heartened by the support and protest I’ve been seeing online and offline too, so I am hoping that love and hope will win over in the end. Seeing these kinds of events unfold from the UK is worrying, and it has me concerned about our own future here post-Brexit. I can only hope that things work out for the best. I’ve also been re-watching the entire series of The Mighty Boosh, and it’s the exact kind of whimsical escapism I need right now. So making a nature collage of my first summer in Cumbria felt like a good move, in-between everything else, and I hope these images provide some solace for anyone who needs a break at the moment too.

(I apologise if this post was a little longer than what I usually share on Wordless Wednesday, as I try to keep these posts a bit shorter, but I felt like I needed to say something in light of recent events, and provide some solace. As always if anyone is struggling, I am more than happy to be a shoulder to cry on, or someone to vent at, so just send me an email.)

Linking up with Sue for (Almost) Wordless Wednesday.

Hope you’re all having a good week so far and are all looking after yourselves.

Tasha

xxx

12 thoughts on “Snapshots of a Cumbrian Summer

  1. Mandy says:

    Thank you for speaking out and aiding in charitable organizations. I too am really concerned about what is going on in the world, and, thus not as optimistic as usual. I loved seeing Canada’s commitment to helping refugees last night during their debate. And I sincerely hope that brexit works out for the UK. All we can do is keeping donating, protesting, and spurring one another on trying to add a little bit of positivity to the lives of people and animals that are suffering as a result of ongoing restrictions placed within the US and around the world.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Natasha says:

      Yes, it’s so important to lift our voices at the moment, and help in any way we can. I can tell you, the UK feels for you at the moment, and we’re all uniting together to protest and support. Here’s hoping we can lead the change with hope and love. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lifeasunusuals says:

    With everything going on, it is still important to focus on the things that make our lives good and happy. After all, happiness and kindness begins at home and we can’t help others if we can’t help ourselves.

    I love this collage. It’s everything you can want in a summer, especially bees, butterflies and sheep! You know I love them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Winnie (@diamondcanopy) says:

    Oh I know what you mean. Every night I watch the Channel 4 news and I am so disheartened about the latest news from the UK as well as US. It’s a crazy time and I am a little anxious at how it will all play out. But on the flip side, there are definitely things to be thankful for and things that can make your days a lot better – Mighty Boosh is definitely one! I used to watch it with my housemates at uni, so they bring back very very fond memories! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Me too, it’s an unsettling time. But you are so right, there are lots of things to be thankful for and I am currently putting together a little post on what kept me smiling throughout January as a way to keep me smiling. Thank you Winnie! ❤ I love The Boosh, it's just so good!

      Like

    • Natasha says:

      Hi! I’ve been up here for about 3 years now, but I’m not sure how much longer I’ll be in the area for due to work but it’s a lovely place to live! Whereabouts are you in Cumbria? 🙂 Thank you so much for the kind comments!

      Like

  4. Kel says:

    These are some beautiful pictures!
    It is a tough, scary time – I got through phases of stressing myself by burying myself in, then trying to ignore everything thats happening for a day or two….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

