Paper Roses!

At the moment I need fun and colour in my life, and what better way to achieve that than with some paper roses! Of course, this was inspired by the brilliant Red Ted Art, who has a tutorial on how to make these yourself here if you’d like some for decoration for your room.

dscn0122

I changed a few things with my rose as I didn’t have any paper towels so instead I used tissue paper. I got this red and white tissue paper over Christmas, and thought the pattern would look quite pretty all curled up to look like a rose. So I took my tissue paper and first cut it in half along the centre of the material that I had as it was a large piece. Then I followed the instructions on Red Ted Art’s blog to create the two separate pieces of the rose. Then you just curl them around the ‘stem’ and glue into place. After both pieces were on, I then pinched the bottom of the rose to recreate that classic newly opened rose shape.

dscn0126

For the ‘stem’ I used an old yarn knitting needle I had in my craft box which worked perfectly. I then took some green yarn and twirled it around the base of the rose, before gluing into place, and I just used simple PVC for this. Then using some green tissue paper, I simply cut out some leaf shapes and glued them in place around the base of the rose over the top of the yarn, and you’re done!

dscn0124

I love how this turned out, and the great thing about this is that you can use any kind of patterned paper and colours, and if you check out the tutorial I followed, using paper towels means you can dye the towel any colour too and create some interesting colour combinations. Quick, easy, colourful and fun, these are great if you’re looking for some colour for your room at the moment.

Hope you’ve all had a lovely weekend and your week is off to a good start!

Tasha

xxx

17 thoughts on “Paper Roses!

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you so much Maggy! I know they’re usually intended for younger hands, but I love your crafts because they’re fun and so quick to make, so I hope you don’t mind! 😀

      Like

  1. Gabrielle says:

    How sweet! It’s fun looking at ways to DIY as Valentine’s Day fast approaches, and I love how you’ve used tissue paper for this creation.

    aglassofice.com
    x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lifeasunusuals says:

    I love your choice of paper, that makes it extra special and opens it up to so many other ideas with all different types of paper. you could make a whole bouquet with different paper patterns!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. aandj8804 says:

    How fun! I have a book on making paper flowers that I just never seem to have time to crack open and try. I always love paper flowers, though. One day I’ll try making them. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

