Two Little Doves

As the weekend coming up heralds the arrival of The Big Garden Birdwatch again (this will be the third year I’ve taken part!) I thought it was only fair to do some bird-themed origami for today’s crafty post, so I did just that!

dscn0016

I used this basic template and design for the two doves I made, which was nice and easy to follow, but there are a ton of templates and videos all over the internet with different variations for pigeons and doves like these, but if you’re looking for the specific one I used I followed the video linked above. It was quick, and it’s probably considered to be more kirigami, as there was some cutting involved, than origami, but it was fun!

dscn0025

For the first dove I decided to mimic another style I’d seen elsewhere by flattening the tail inwards – so all you need to do is take the tail (after you’ve folded the wings up) and gently push the top fold (the crease where the tail meets the wings) down and in, until the tail naturally folds back around, so it gives the appearance your dove is sitting.

dscn0013

I decided to leave the second dove in that classic flight pose, from the original template, and left it balancing on my cactus which made me smile to no end! They reminded me a tiny bit of hummingbirds when they’re visiting flowers for nectar!

These took me minutes to make, and I’ll probably do a few more in different colours and sizes to dot around my room, especially in the run up to spring, but these were good fun to do before the Birdwatch. If you wanted to, you could also moderate the tail design to mimic other birds too, and of course, add details and use coloured or patterned paper as well.

Are any of you taking part in the Birdwatch this weekend?

Hope you’re all having a good start to the week!

Tasha

xxx

10 thoughts on “Two Little Doves

  1. Gabrielle says:

    How very sweet, and brilliant that they only took you a matter of minutes to create – you could create hundreds of them for celebrations! πŸ™‚

    aglassofice.com
    x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      I’ve been doing origami for a couple of years now, and I do stick to the easier stuff. This just took one try as it was fairly simple, but there are some I still can’t master! πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

