In The Grip Of Winter

Mum’s fuchsia bush in the front garden is a shadow of its former self during the winter, but there’s something wild and even pretty about it when the sunshine hits. Because the house faces out towards the coast along the West, when the sun breaks through, it’s beautiful and it’s great for the plants as it means they get tons of sun when it’s needed the most.

So when some much needed winter sun was peeking through the clouds last week, I got my camera, and headed outside to get some photos of the fuchsia bush in its winter attire. Funnily enough, as I was taking these photos I looked across the road and the houses hedgerows opposite were full of house sparrows, which was lovely to see! At least the birds seem to be doing well.

dscn9643

Even though the branches and stems are bare, the sun lit them up in these pretty, soft, natural colours.

dscn9648

The sunshine was stunningly gorgeous, and so warm too!

dscn9652

There’s something nice about seeing the plants, which seem dead on the surface, lit up in the sunshine like this as it almost seem to breathe some lift back into them, and I can’t wait to see the fuchsia bush covered in its lovely flowers and leaves come spring again.

dscn9656

It’s easy to assume, and I do it myself, that the world goes to sleep and hibernates during winter. I often worry that I won’t be able to photograph as much when the colder months come along, but over the past few years, winter nature has shown me that there are many beautiful moments outdoors to be seen, even on the fuchsia bush without it’s bright pink and purple flowers, it’s still pretty when it’s bare in the sunshine!

Linking up with Jen for Photo Friday.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

Tasha

xxx

16 thoughts on “In The Grip Of Winter

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you so much ❤ Yes, it's true, there is a lot of beauty in the world – I try to focus on it each day, especially during the colder months when it can be harder to find. 🙂

      Like

  1. Ruth says:

    Tasha, just found out about your new space. Congratulations! Everything looks fabulous. I am glad you are trying new things with respect to blogging. I am working on different things too. Sending you tons of hugs from California!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laila says:

    There’s something about winter which makes it so wonderful to photograph isn’t there? I think it’s just the stillness – it’s so much more peaceful in the Winter. Lovely pictures as usual Tasha xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jade @ Captured By Jade says:

    Bare branches can often seem quite simple and plain during the winter months, but if you look a little closer or even in the right light, then the beauty shines through. I hope you’ll share the fuchsia bush once it comes to life again – I’m sure it is stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lifeasunusuals says:

    I must admit, I should have been making the most of the sunshine this last week or so, but I’ve been hibernating instead. It’s just been far too cold lately and all I want to do is wrap up warm on my sofa. I think that’s OK though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

