Tropical Toucans

Toucans are just one of my favourite species of birds, and as I shared on my 2016; The Happy Moments post back in early January, I tried my hand at a toco toucan in acrylic on a canvas last year, which turned out really well, and you all seemed to like it. However, there are many different species of toucan, and the rainbow or keel billed toucan is another stunning example of how colourful these birds can get, so when I was doing some painting last week, I knew I wanted to have a go at a watercolour version following on from last week’s nudibranch!

dscn9627

I sketched out the outline of the toucan first, before adding in details in a basic graphite pencil so I could paint on the detail a little easier afterwards, which helped a lot, and this is the same method I used when I did my other toucan too. I have a big book called 501 Must Visit Islands, that I got a couple of years ago, which is where I got the inspiration for this painting from, and I used the photo inside as a basis for the outline.Getting the colour to blend with watercolours was nice and easy, but I need to invest in some better watercolour paper and some thinner brushes!

I know that some keel billed toucans have more blue or green on the underside of their bill, but the photo I worked from showed more green, so I will probably do another canvas style toucan at some point with a more blue bill to show the two variations. I always like painting and drawing these birds, because they’re lovely to do, and I’m pleased with how this one turned out. I’m enjoying easing back into painting in the New Year, and all of these colourful creatures are helping!

Hope you all had a good weekend and are having a good start to the week.

Tasha

xxx

16 thoughts on “Tropical Toucans

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you so much Danielle, that means a lot! Do you think I should? My Mum and I have toyed with the idea before, so we’ll see but I wasn’t sure if I’d have much to sell as I just paint for fun! Thank you though. ❤

      Like

  1. Gabrielle says:

    This is so lovely and especially as it’s watercolour; bight and cheerful! You’re so creative, it’s a lot of fun seeing your different artworks/DIYs etc 🙂

    aglassofice.com
    x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

