2016; The Happy Moments.

I feel like last year was a very difficult one, and with the added stress and worry of global issues going on it soon became a year that I was grateful to learn from and leave behind me. However, I’ve really been enjoying seeing everyone’s happy moments from 2016 as a way to remember that it wasn’t all bad, and I am a strong believer in (trying) to focus on what I love and enjoy, as a way to battle anxiety and depression, so I wanted to share some of mine with you all for the first Photo Friday of the year, in the hopes that 2017 will have many more just like it.

This may be quite a long post so bear with me!

6480545_adfghlp014_l

I successfully completed another year of Project 365 and out of all of the photos I took this one has to be my favourite. I loved the way the lawn lit up with daisies during the summertime and it was gorgeously hot this year which meant the garden flourished in the sunlight.

birds4

I took part in the RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch for the second year running and while there weren’t as many birds around as the previous year (a slight worry, but it was raining that day so perhaps the weather was to blame) it was still lots of fun, and the adorable little robin stayed for the whole hour!

dscn9247

I rediscovered painting and started to pick up brushes again, having not really dabbled in it for a good couple of years, and by far, my favourite painting of the year has to be the toucan I did. I am planning on adding some foliage to this painting but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. I also tried out some new techniques such as having a go at doing a galaxy scene which was lots of fun to do and you all seemed to really like it, so I was pleased with how they came out.

I turned 26 and spent the day in a beautifully sun soaked Ambleside indulging in one of my favourite things, buying gemstones! I was treated to these gorgeous mountain views on the way there, and I felt very grateful for the lovely weather on the day, so thank you Cumbria for accommodating me.

wp_000287

I found myself in full-time employment, after graduating, in an interesting and varied role with GIS! While the job did not last and unfortunately came to an end in July of 2016 due to funding and a few other hiccups, I was so happy to be working and learning new things. I am hoping that 2017 brings me back to that feeling again as above all that is my main goal for 2017; I don’t do well when I am not being productive. The above was just one of the gorgeous ponds on the site where I worked and I do miss it, but am thankful I had the opportunity and learnt a lot while I was there.

dscn9891

I took part in Two Uses Tuesday for a whole year! While the brilliant and creative weekly blog link-up is now no more, I had so much fun being a part of this, so much so, that now each Tuesday has become my crafty blog day, and I want to try my hand at new and exciting things this year. The chameleon painting I did above has to be my favourite one though.

dscn7910

I found a new favourite spot for taking photos in, which I discovered while working. There’s a steep road which leads down to the coast in Whitehaven and offers spectacular views across the sea, and whenever the sun is shining, it’s glorious. This was my favourite photo I took at that spot last year, just as summer was ending.

cinnabar-moth

I took part in 30 Days Wild for the second year running and loved every second. At work we did these mini lunchtime presentations as a way to get everyone together and I did mine on this topic because I loved it so much! My favourite spot of the whole month was this little cinnabar moth.

dscn7470

I finally visited Workington Hall which is a spot I would definitely recommend to anyone who visits the area if you’re interested in history and architecture, and it’s become a new favourite spot of mine. The colours of the surrounding trees in autumn were stunning to see, and I can’t wait until spring when the surrounding grounds come to life with flowers, it’s lovely to see.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I successfully kept my second, smaller blog,Ā The Earth, Air and Sea, running for a whole year and it celebrated it’s first blog birthday in 2016! One of my recent favourites that I’ve shared over there is the one of the grazing horse, from when I was at university, above. Having a second blog has allowed me to rediscover some hidden gems in my photo folders whilst being able to share them with you all for the first time.

dscn8340

It was a great year for sky watching too, with some amazing sunsets, storms, starry night skies and cloud formations, and my favourite moment was spotting this iridescent cloud (or what may have been a sun dog) on the way back from Keswick one cold morning.

15780710_10157949543535075_1709478705877254370_n

Finally, to all of the wonderful people in my life both online and offline, thank you for bearing with me. Especially my friends who I live miles away from, many of whom I haven’t seen for quite a while; this year will be the one that I come to see you all! To those of you in the blogging world, thank you for all of the kindness and support this year, it’s meant a lot and while many of you may not know it, on some occasions it’s kept me going and inspired, so thank you. This little collage I made and shared on my Facebook and Twitter profiles, but I wanted to put it here too as it has some of my favourite wildlife moments from 2016, and this is how I want to remember the previous year and head into the new one – seeking adventure.

Let’s make 2017 a good one!

Have an amazing weekend!

Tasha

xxx

35 thoughts on “2016; The Happy Moments.

  1. Christine says:

    Hello Natasha & congrats on your lovely new blog!
    You had so many wonderful moments last year taking photos & enjoying nature!
    I love the shot through the daisies too!
    Enjoy every moment this year too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jade @ Captured By Jade says:

    Even when it seems to have been quite a rubbish year, sitting down and look back like this definitely proves otherwise – you’ve shared some lovely moments and memories from 2016.

    I’m glad to have discovered you and your content this past year.

    Daises are one of my favourite flowers, and I love the first picture you included.

    Wishing you a wonderful 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Danielle Eskdale says:

    Always good when a ‘happy’ post is a long one, means there was lots to be happy about! And there was šŸ™‚ I can’t wait for this year’s BGBW, only a couple weeks to go. You are so talented when it comes to crafty stuff!
    I hope 2017 brings everything you wish for ā¤ And that we will meet this year!!

    xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you so much Danielle – I wanted to do a positive look back at the year to get this one off on the right footing! Thank you – I’m trying to improve my art skills and there are some more ambitious projects I want to do this year too, so hopefully I can share them here. And yes, it will be amazing to meet this year! šŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Louise says:

    This blog is looking great! When I did my post, I found 2016 hadn’t been that bad after all – it’s just the negative things tend to dominate! This a lovely post – gorgeous photos and lots of good times in spite of things not working out in other ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gabrielle says:

    What a lovely run-down of your past year; I’m so pleased to hear you’ve rediscovered painting/art – i can imagine how therapeutic that must be. Also, I hadn’t realised you were battling anxiety and depressions Tasha, I really admire your determination to focus on the positive and beautiful despite this šŸ™‚

    aglassofice.com
    x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Gabrielle – that means a lot. ā¤ Yes, I try to stay positive and focus on the good and the fun in life as much as I can as I find it therapeutic. šŸ™‚ I'll be over to your blog to catch up soon!

      Like

  6. Michelle says:

    It’s so nice to read about all the great bits of last year, starts the new year off on a real positive note. Sending lots of good vibes that you find the perfect job this year.
    Your toucan is gorgeous, love the idea of surrounding him with a bit of foliage.
    Such a lovely read Tasha
    M x
    AND I didn’t know you had a second blog! This is a good news day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Michelle! That was my thinking, a good way to start the year. Job is first on my list, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed! Thank you, I’ve got lots more painting coming. My second blog isn’t updated as often, but it’s nice to share my older photos and some that didn’t make it onto my blog! šŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Kel says:

    What a lovely positive post! 2016 was pretty terrifying for many reasons, but it’s important to remember there’s a lot good left in the world still! Your beautiful pictures are some great reminders of that šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sam says:

    Wow your art is really good! You definitely have a talent for it and I hope you keep making time to practice your skill.

    Congrats on finishing another 365 project. I do admire your dedication! S x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. lifeasunusuals says:

    I have really been enjoying these posts! I’m kind of sad that they will be ending by the end of the month.

    I love your favourite photo from your 365 project, definitely a good choice. It just reminds me of everything I love about the summer time.

    Look at that little Robin guy!! He’s such a cutie. I think I only saw two of them this year, which sucks a little but definitely better than not seeing any at all.

    I can’t wait to see what crafty ideas you come up with this year, i like to get my fill of craftiness from you haha, since I’m pretty awesome at crafts myself.

    I love that photo of the grazing horse! What a beauty!

    Here’s to an amazing 2017, with lots of adventure I hope!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Kerri ā¤ I hope I can inspire! I'm looking to challenge myself a little this year; the craft I really want to do is a miniature koi pond, just using some stones, as the hot glue serves as the water, so I need to get a hot glue gun first! šŸ˜€ I'll be over to catch up with your blog soon. ā¤

      Like

  10. tapeparade says:

    Hi Natasha! Congratulations on the new blog! It’s really beautiful – I’m just reading back through the posts as I’ve missed a few! I can’t want to see what this year has in store. I look forward to more of your beautiful wildlife photos this year as well šŸ™‚ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. aandj8804 says:

    Your new blog is looking great! And yay for a fantastic 2016! It sounds like you accomplished a lot! I hope 2017 is filled with just as many accomplishments and lots of happiness for you! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Kezzie says:

    This is a glorious summary Tasha. You’ve highlighted some beautiful moments and times and I’ve really enjoyed your blog this past year! Your toucan is marvellous and I was so chuffed with the beautiful galaxy painting you did for me!
    I hope that this year is the year you find a lovely job and enjoy yourself. Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

