Flying Into 2017!

Hello and welcome to my new blog The Happy Larkspur! For the past 4 to 5 years I’ve been using blogger but this year I decided I wanted to try something different, so new name, new blog, but the same content as what you were all used to on Through Tasha’s Camera! My old blog is still up, but there won’t be any new posts on there, but if you ever want to go back and read any of them or look at my old photos you are more than welcome to.

I wanted this blog to have the same creative and positive feel as my old one so that’s where the new name comes from. A larkspur is a beautiful flower which is also the flower of my birth month, July, and that way I can combine happiness with my love of the natural world, and hopefully put out plenty more posts this year that make you all smile and inspire you too.

With the frivolity and madness of the festive season and all of the Christmas crafts I made I haven’t had much time to sit down and make anything new so over the weekend, I sat down and did a couple of quick, colourful things to go onto my wall to make me smile in the New Year.

dscn9361

This first little origami piece is a tiny kite. I made a simple kite base which is easiest to show you via this short video here, and I then added a tail by simply cutting a thin strip of paper, curling with my scissors and securing at the base of the kite with some glue. I will probably make some more of these, and when I do I’ll be using some coloured paper for the tail as I think that would look quite effective, but I liked the all white look on this one. Using some markers I then drew some very simple, block line feathers to add some colour to the top, but once you have your base you have free rein and creative licence to do whatever you like!

dscn9360

Next I wanted to get something cute, colourful and inspiring on my wall to see me through the darker mornings in January, and I really liked these floral doodle designs from Art a la Carte here, and I thought they would be great as a January pick-me-up. If you like art, painting and drawing, it’s a great channel and is one of my favourites on YouTube, and this one is great if you’re looking for something new and creative in the New Year too. I used the tulip design as inspiration, coloured as I liked, added some long stems and the words, Time To Bloom to make sure I dive fully into 2017!

A couple of nice, easy and colourful mini-crafts to get me back into the swing of things in the New Year without being too taxing, but I’m hoping to get some more painting and drawing done this month too as I was slacking quite a bit in December.

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful festive season and are feeling rejuvenated and looking forwards to good things in the year ahead.

Welcome to my new blog, and I hope you stay with me for the rest of 2017!

Happy New Year!

Tasha

xxx

16 thoughts on “Flying Into 2017!

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Kel! It was something nice and easy to ease me back into the year with, but I’ve already been painting so I’ve got some new things to share next Tuesday! 🙂

      Like

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you Louise! Yes – I’ve got another one tomorrow and then one on Friday 😀 This was something easy to start off with but I’ve been painting today so I’ve got some new things coming.

      Like

  1. Gabrielle says:

    Congrats on the big blogging change – a great (and refreshing!) way to start the New Year. I’m looking forward to reading/seeing your creative posts of 2017 🙂

    aglassofice.com
    x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

